Tag Archive for Cleveland

Uncirculated AUDIO from 2003: earliest Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings live recording

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings 4/13/03 Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Honky Tonk Popcorn, Got To Be The Way It Is > “I’m Feelin’ It”

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
April 13, 2003
Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
DSBD > master CDRs > EAC > FLAC


Disc One:
01. unknown instrumental
02. “Slap You Some Soul On It”
03. Sharon Jones Intro
04. Got A Thing On My Mind
05. What Have You Done For Me Lately (Janet Jackson cover) >
06. Things Got To Get Better (Marva Whitney cover) > There Was A Time (James Brown cover) >
07. “Talking ‘Bout Peace ”
08. “He Makes Me Feel Good”

Disc Two:
01. Cut That Line
02. Give Me A Chance (inc. jam and solos)
03. Make It Good To Me
04. Honky Tonk Popcorn (Bill Doggett / James Brown cover) (instrumental)
05. Honky Tonk Popcorn (reprise)
06. Got To Be The Way It Is >
07. “I’m Feelin’ It”
08. “Makes Me Feel Soo Glad”
09. Genuine >
10. Outro
11. Pick It Up, Lay It in the Cut
12. “I’m A Mother For You”

Orgone’s never-ending tour lights up The Bishop Bar in Bloomington, IN, May 30, 2012

Orgone lit the stage on fire Wednesday, May 30th at the Bishop Bar in Bloomington, IN. Having made a stop in the city during their fall 2011 tour, the crowd was filled with many dedicated Orgone fans as well as newly converted funk fanatics. A full set of old hits and new jams left the crowd in a sweaty, melted, synergistic state of funk.

With a new album coming out in a few months, the group’s energy and groove are as tight as ever. This hard touring band will be covering the country this summer with a jam-packed set of dates. Check their schedule and hit up a show for a real taste of Cali fever.

Check out the videos below, and the full SBD audio download here.

May 30, 2012 Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop Bar

Rock Me Again & Again & Again (Lyn Collins cover), Strike (Union cover), Sabi:

May 30, 2012 Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop Bar

Cynthy-Ruth (Black Merda cover), Lovemaker:

Check out past Funk It features on Orgone: here and here.

Also, if you’re wondering, Fanny Franklin, Orgone’s previous singer, has released an album of her own and I highly recommend it: http://soundcloud.com/fannyfranklin.

And finally, a bonus video:
Orgone with guest artist at large Jonathan Lloyd (trombone)
November 11, 2011 Bear Creek Music & Arts Festival

Cali Fever, Break In The Road (Betty Harris cover), Rock Me Again & Again & Again (Lyn Collins cover):

And, another bonus video:
June 23, 2012 Cleveland, OH @ The Grop Shop

It’s Serious ( Cameo cover) (inc. tease of The Clash‘s The Magnificent Seven):