Tag Archive for Keith Anderson

Prince’s “The Official Purple After Jam” 9/26/12 Chicago, IL @ House of Blues

Official Purple After Jam (teaser) – The Purple One ft. Maceo Parker – I Don’t Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing (Open Up The Door, I’ll Get It Myself) [James Brown cover] > Housequake

“Oh my goodness. Somebody get me a copy of that right now! Where the bootleggers is?” – Prince

“The Official Purple After Jam”
September 26, 2012
Chicago, IL @ House of Blues (1:55am start time on morning of 9/27/12)

internal mics > Tascam DR-2d > Cool Edit Pro (amplified) > CD Wave Editor (tracking) > FLAC
Recorded by Funk It Blog


Prince & The NPG:
01. Intro
02. [first minute missing] When Stars Collide (ft. Andy Allo) >
03. We’re A Winner [Curtis Mayfield cover] (ft. Shelby J) >
04. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You) [Aretha Franklin cover] (ft. Shelby J) >
05. Satisfied >
06. I Don’t Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing (Open Up The Door, I’ll Get It Myself)
[James Brown cover] (ft. Maceo Parker) >
07. Housequake >
08. The Jam (ft. Maceo Parker)
09. People Pleaser intro
10. People Pleaser (ft. Andy Allo & Maceo Parker) (sans Prince)
11. Brown Skin [India Arie cover] (ft. Shelby J)
12. ?No Excuse? (instrumental) (ft. Maceo Parker)

Janelle Monae’s Arch Orchestra:
01. Intro
02. The Electric Lady (ft. Maceo Parker)
03. “Giving You What You Love” (?new song?)
04. Chameleon [Herbie Hancock & The Headhunters cover]
05. Tightrope
06. Outro

Prince & The NPG:
Prince (vox, guitar)
John Blackwell (drums)
Andrew Gouche (bass)
Ida Nielsen (guitar)
Morris Hayes (keyboards)
???Cassandra O’Neal (keyboards)
Mike Scott (guitar)
Shelby J. (vox)
Liv Warfield (vox)
???Elisa Dease (vox)
Damaris Lewis (dance)

Andy Allo (guitar, vox)
Maceo Parker (saxophone)

Sylvester Onyejiaka (saxophone)
BK Jackson (saxophone)
Marcus Anderson (saxophone)
Adrian Crutchfield (saxophone)
Keith Anderson (saxophone)
Lynn Grissett (trumpet)
Steve Reid (trumpet)
Phil Lassiter (trumpet)
Nick Marchione (trumpet)
Roy Agee (trombone)
Joey Rayfield (trombone)

Janelle Monae’s Arch Orchestra:
Janelle Monáe (vox)
Kellindo Parker (guitar)
Brandon Gilliard (bass)
Terrence Brown (keyboards)
Mike P. Phillips (drums)
Marcus Lewis (trombone)
Lance Powlis (trumpet)

P.S. The full 9/26/12 United Center show has been posted as a 2 DVD set here.

Roy Hargrove & The RH Factor – April 2, 2004 Cully Jazz Festival, Switerzland

Roy Hargrove & The RH Factor – Hardgroove 4/2/04 Cully Jazz Fest, Switzerland

Shortly after D’Angelo disbanded The Soultronics in late 2000 to begin working on his (still) long awaited follow up to Voodoo, Roy Hargrove, a former member of The Soultronics and an established jazz musician in his own right, decided to take his music in a more funk and soul oriented direction.

In late 2002, Hargrove debuted his new band, The RH Factor, at the Monterey Jazz Festival. This new group included two other Soultronics alumnus, Chalmers “Spanky” Alford and “Brother Jacques Schwarz-Bart. Your interest should be piqued. If not, just press play and listen to the interplay of the dual drum kits held down by Willie Jones III and Jason Thomas. Add the keyboard stylings and soulful vocals of Miss Renée Neufville and it is clear that Mr. Hargrove had hit upon quite a combo.

The band went on to put out an EP and 2 albums featuring many guests, including D’Angelo, Q-Tip, Meshell Ndegeocello, Erykah Badu and Common. All 3 discs are highly recommended. In the following years, Hargrove continued to tour sporadically with The RH Factor in Europe, although with various members changes. To my knowledge their most recent tour was in 2009. Let’s hope that Hargrove again decides to divert his attention from his straight ahead jazz in favor of the deep jazz funk that this group produces.

Roy Hargrove & The RH Factor
April 2nd, 2004
Cully Jazz Festival, Switzerland @ Chapiteau de Cully
FM/SBD > ? > CDR > EAC > WAV > MP3

MP3 DOWNLOAD LINK: http://funkit.minus.com/mWKHgawh9

1. In A Silent Way 7:18
2. It’s About That Time 6:14
3. It’s About That Time (cont.) 4:51
4. Hardgroove > Pastor T 24:06
5. Forget Regret 10:40
6. “Truth Be Told” 3:50 (fade out, end)

Roy Hargrove (tp, voc)
The RH Factor:
Renée Neufville (voc, keyb)
Keith Anderson (ts, as)
Jacques Schwarz-Bart (ts, f, g)
Bobby Sparks (keyb, org)
Chalmers “Spanky” Alford (g)
Reggie Washington (b)
Jason Thomas (dr)
Willie Jones III (dr)