Tom Tom Club – “1980-1981 demos” aka “Rough Instrumentals For First Album”

Tom Tom Club – L’Eléphant (Rough Instrumentals For First Album)

Tom Tom Club
“1980-1981 demos” aka “Rough Instrumentals For First Album”


01. Genius of Love
02. Wordy Rappinghood
03. On, On, On, On… (version 1)
04. On, On, On, On… (version 2)
05. Tom Tom Theme
06. L’Eléphant
07. As Above, So Below
08. Lorelei

Mark Kadzielawa: “Not too many people know that Adrian Belew played guitar on several cuts from the first album. What was it like to work him in the studio?”
Chris Frantz: “Well, we actually had hoped that Adrian would stick with Tom Tom Club. What we did, we recorded all the basic tracks, and then we had Adrian come down. We brought his whole family down. Him and his family, we flew them down to the Bahamas. He came over with his wife, and his two kids, and we had a wonderful time. He overdubbed the guitar part onto the stuff that we’ve had already recorded. We did at least one instrumental track with him that we began with him there. It was called “Tom Tom Theme,” where Adrian actually hit the piano strings with drumsticks, and it was kind of neat. Adrian is a great guitarist, and we actually spoke to Chris Blackwell about offering Adrian a solo deal, which may not have happened if we hadn’t asked him to. We thought very highly about Adrian, but as soon as he finished, he was off working with Robert Fripp. We barely saw him again, and after that I think I only seen him one time since then at the MTV studios.”
– excerpted from 69 Faces of Rock


As a little bonus, check out this recently unearthed Talking Heads live recording, and download the full show here.

Talking Heads – Born Under Punches 8/27/80 NYC @ Central Park