Tag Archive for First Ave.

AUDIO: Flying Lotus & Thundercat 10/25/14 Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue

Flying Lotus

Flying Lotus is touring the USA right now supporting his new album, You’re Dead!, and Thundercat is the opening act. Fortunately for those of us that can’t catch this tour, a Minneapolis taper named LucidNight has captured their performances at the legendary First Avenue club.

Both Flylo and Thundercat seem in high spirits, and both remark on how it was the birthday of their friend Austin Peralta, the young pianist and composer who lost his life way too early 2 years ago. Listen to a few tunes below (including an unreleased Kendrick Lamar / Flylo collab!) and follow the links to download the entire show.


October 25, 2014
First Ave, Main Room
Minneapolis, MN

Taper: LucidNight
Source: Church Audio 14 Cards > CA-9100 > Edirol 09 > Audacity
Location: Directly behind soundbooth


01. You’re Dead
02. Tron Song
03. ???
04. DMT Song > Lotus and The Jondy
05. Evangelion
06. Daylight
07. ???
08. Oh Sheit, it’s X!

Thundercat – bass, vocals
Dennis Hamm – keys
Justin Brown – drums


Flying Lotus
October 25, 2014
First Ave, Main Room
Minneapolis, MN

Taper: LucidNight
Source: Church Audio 14 Cards > CA 9100 > Edirol 09 > Audacity
Location: Directly behind soundbooth, center


1. Intro
2. Theme / Until the Quiet Comes / Untitled / Untitled
3. Ready err Not (Feat. Chance the Rapper) / Melt! / Dance of the Pseudo Nymph / Camel / S.D.S. (Song by Mac Miller) / Untitled
4. Untitled
5. Sultan’s Revenge
6. Zodiac Shit / Untitled / Untitled / Untitled / Untitled
7. Untitled / Turtles
8. Medication Meditation (Feat. Krayzie Bone)
9. Siren Song
10. Coronus, the Terminator
11. Getting There
12. Obligatory Cadence
13. Computer Face
14. Untitled
15. Eyes Down (Feat. Kendrick Lamar) / Cold Dead
16. The Killing Joke (As Captain Murphy)
17. Mighty Morphin Foreskin (As Captain Murphy)
18. Between Friends (As Captain Murphy)
19. Dead Man’s Tetris (Feat. Captain Murphy & Snoop Dogg)
20. Man of the Year (Remix) [Song by Schoolboy Q]
21. No Flex Zone (Remix) [Song by Rae Sremmurd]
22. Putty Boy Strut / Physics for Everyone! / Clock Catcher
23. Turkey Dog Coma / Moment of Hesitation
24. Never Catch Me (Feat. Kendrick Lamar)
25. The Protest


Happy Birthday Prince: The 1984 Birthday Show

Prince & The Revolution – Erotic City – June 7, 1984 – The 1984 Birthday Show

An audience recording of this show has been around the bootleg circuit for years (“Erotic City”, “Noon Rendezvous”, “26”), but I could never really listen to the whole thing because it sounded so bad. Now the pristine multi-track soundboard recording has leaked out into the general public and you can download it here:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6LI5DCCH (the password is reggolboge)
or here: http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=91209.
The artwork is here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=GLAL48KV (the password is dontbuypressedrehash).

Here is the accompanying “press release” (if a bootleg can ever really have a press release):

Presented here for the first time, just a month shy of 27 years, is an absolutely astounding soundboard recording of this historic show. In an unprecedented move, the two leading fan labels Free Boot Generation and 4DaFunk have joined forces with a completely anonymous benefactor in an effort to put the finest possible experience into the hands of the fans. For free. Enjoy.

Prince And The Revolution
“From The Soundboard: 1984 Birthday Show”
June 7th, 1984
First Avenue
Minneapolis, MN

Source: Soundboard
Lineage: SBD > Tape > WAV > Soundforge > FLAC > TLH SBEs fixed > You
Label: Anonymous / FBG / 4DF
Cat.-No.: Anony001 / FBG39 / 4DF088
Released: May 2011
TRT: 79:52

1. Shortberry Strawcake (PA) / Drums check (0’56)
2. 17 Days (5’24)
3. Our Destiny (3’23)
4. Roadhouse Garden (4’45)
5. Interlude (1’20)
6. All Day, All Night (5’42)
7. Free (4’40)
8. Noon Rendezvous (9’02)
9. Erotic City (8’31)
10. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute) (10’10)
11. When Doves Cry (11’37)
12. Happy Birthday Interlude (2’27)
13. Irresistible Bitch (6’07)
14. Possessed (5’48)

Prince celebrated his 26th year with a concert at the famed Minneapolis nightclub First Avenue. Sheila E. had flown in from California along with Prince’s management team. A mobile multi-track recording truck was hired to record this show. The 85-minute set opened with ”17 Days”. It was followed by two new songs, ”Our Destiny,” which went into ”Roadhouse Garden.” ”We’ve got some stuff you’ll recognize and some you won’t,” Prince said before playing another new track, ”All Day, All Night.” Both ”Our Destiny” and ”Roadhouse Garden” remain unreleased, although they were worked on later in 1984 by Wendy and Lisa. The Latter was at one point planned for release on the stillborn 1998/99 Roadhouse Garden project. ”All Day, All Night” surfaced on Jill Jones’ 1987 album, which featured basic tracks pulled from this performance.”Free” finds Prince at the piano accompanied only by Bobby Z. on drums. Prince dedicated ”Noon Rendezvous” to “that little girl over there, that’s Sheila E.” Next on the set-list were ”Erotic City” and a dramatically rearranged version of ”Something In The Water (Does Not Compute).” An extended take on ”When Doves Cry” was followed by an audience-led rendition of ”Happy Birthday”. The b-side ”Irresistible Bitch” and the unreleased ”Possessed” close the show.