Tag Archive for Lagos

UNRELEASED AUDIO: Fela Kuti & Egypt 80 – 1981 Amsterdam & 1988 Lagos Sunsplash

I’m going deep into my archives and unleashing these unreleased live tracks for the very first time. Don’t ask where I got them because I’m not telling. Here we have 4 full-length live tracks from the legendary Fela Kuti with his Egypt 80 band in excellent soundboard quality.


1981 Amsterdam:
01. Gov’t Chicken Boy [27:29]
02. Original Sufferhead [35:26]

1988 Lagos Sunsplash:
01. Big Blind Country [22:20]
02. O.D.O.O. [39:40]

Fela Kuti

Please credit Funk It Blog if you repost or reblog these recordings.

Also, don’t miss this prior Funk It post of a burning Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 performance: http://funkit.virose.net/?p=2431

VIDEO: Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 burn bright at House of Blues New Orleans #jazzfest2012

The chance to see Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 in the smallest House of Blues in the country? Not a chance I would miss that. The first thing the Funk It crew did when we arrived in New Orleans for 5 nights of live music and licentiousness was hit this Wednesday night show. Every expectation was met with a non-stop 2 hour performance. In fact, the beginning of this video is about as calm as this performance ever became. It was like the eye of the storm in the middle of the show, a political diatribe bookended by bombastic intensity on both ends….

Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 – The Good Leaf – 5/2/12 New Orleans, LA @ House of Blues

AUDIO: Questlove’s Afro-Picks (feat. Tony Allen) 9/11/11 Paris

Questlove’s Afro-Picks – No Discrimination (Tony Allen cover) 9/11/11 Paris, France

FULL SHOW MP3 DOWNLOAD: http://funkit.minus.com/mgr0csCkz (Courtesy of All The Way Live).
Or stream it at Red Bull Music Academy Radio: part 1 and part 2.

Questlove’s Afro-Picks
September 11, 2011
Paris, France @ La Grande Halle de la Villette
SBD > Red Bull Music Academy Radio stream (unknown kbps) > mp3 (224kbps VBR)

01. African Message (Tony Allen cover)
02. Interlude
03. Africa (Bongi Makeba cover)
04. Colonial Mentality (Fela Kuti cover)
05. Interlude
06. Soweto Blues (Miriam Makeba cover)
07. No Discrimination (Tony Allen cover)
08. Interlude
09. Love Is A Natural Thing (Tony Allen cover)
10. Interlude
11. Gentleman (Fela Kuti cover)
12. Peace (Bongi Makeba cover)
13. Interlude
14. Sorrow Tears And Blood (Fela Kuti cover)
15. Interlude
16. What’s Wrong With Groovin’ (Letta Mbulu cover)
17. Interlude
18. Yala (Oumou Sangare cover)
19. Outro

Questlove – drums
Tony Allen – drums
Amp Fiddler – keys, vocals
Macy Gray – vocals
Black Thought – vocals
Martin Perna – baritone saxophone
Oghene Kologbo – guitar
Chico Mann – guitar
Lakecia Benjamin – saxophone
Jordan McLean – trumpet
Shareef Clayton – trumpet, vocals
Damon Bryson – sousaphone
Mamani Keita – vocals
Shakira Marshall – vocals
Rujeko Dumbutshena – vocals
Afi McClendon – vocals
Lekan Babalola – percussion
Dion Tucker – trombone
Cesar Anot – bass
Cheme Gastelum – saxophone
David Murray – saxophone, arrangements

For more info: