Tag Archive for megaupload

AUDIO: Questlove’s Afro-Picks (feat. Tony Allen) 9/11/11 Paris

Questlove’s Afro-Picks – No Discrimination (Tony Allen cover) 9/11/11 Paris, France

FULL SHOW MP3 DOWNLOAD: http://funkit.minus.com/mgr0csCkz (Courtesy of All The Way Live).
Or stream it at Red Bull Music Academy Radio: part 1 and part 2.

Questlove’s Afro-Picks
September 11, 2011
Paris, France @ La Grande Halle de la Villette
SBD > Red Bull Music Academy Radio stream (unknown kbps) > mp3 (224kbps VBR)

01. African Message (Tony Allen cover)
02. Interlude
03. Africa (Bongi Makeba cover)
04. Colonial Mentality (Fela Kuti cover)
05. Interlude
06. Soweto Blues (Miriam Makeba cover)
07. No Discrimination (Tony Allen cover)
08. Interlude
09. Love Is A Natural Thing (Tony Allen cover)
10. Interlude
11. Gentleman (Fela Kuti cover)
12. Peace (Bongi Makeba cover)
13. Interlude
14. Sorrow Tears And Blood (Fela Kuti cover)
15. Interlude
16. What’s Wrong With Groovin’ (Letta Mbulu cover)
17. Interlude
18. Yala (Oumou Sangare cover)
19. Outro

Questlove – drums
Tony Allen – drums
Amp Fiddler – keys, vocals
Macy Gray – vocals
Black Thought – vocals
Martin Perna – baritone saxophone
Oghene Kologbo – guitar
Chico Mann – guitar
Lakecia Benjamin – saxophone
Jordan McLean – trumpet
Shareef Clayton – trumpet, vocals
Damon Bryson – sousaphone
Mamani Keita – vocals
Shakira Marshall – vocals
Rujeko Dumbutshena – vocals
Afi McClendon – vocals
Lekan Babalola – percussion
Dion Tucker – trombone
Cesar Anot – bass
Cheme Gastelum – saxophone
David Murray – saxophone, arrangements

For more info:

Roy Ayers live with Robert Glasper Experiment & Pete Rock

Roy Ayers, Peter Rock & The Robert Glasper Experiment – July 9, 2011 @ North Sea Jazz Festival – We Live In Brooklyn, Baby

This week I want to hip you to the Robert Glasper Experiment. This group has seamlessly melded jazz and hip hop like no one else. We’re talking about Robert Glasper on piano and fender rhodes, Chris “Daddy” Dave on drums, Derrick Hodge on bass and Casey Benjamin on sax and keytar/vocoder.

Roy Ayers is another artist that is known for melding genres by forever blurring the lines between jazz, funk and soul. So his pairing with the Robert Glasper Experiment at last summer’s North Sea Jazz Festival in Rotterdam, Netherlands was only fitting.

It all started back in April of 2010 when Revive Music Group organized a Roy Ayers Tribute in Harlem that paired the Robert Glasper Experiment with legendary hip-hop producer and DJ, Pete Rock, and contemporary jazz vibraphonist, Stefon Harris. (Check All The Way Live’s exclusive audio recording.) It was also at this April 24, 2010 tribute show that Roy Ayers himself was presented with a Legends and Legacy Award and joined the group for a rendition of his hit, “Searching.” (See the videos here.)

The Roy Ayers Tribute was performed again by the Robert Glasper Experiment, Pete Rock & Stefon Harris on September 11, 2011 in Paris, France. At that show, Bilal joined the group for an expansive and mind-blowing version of “Everybody Loves The Sunshine”. (The full video is on youtube and mp3s are known to circulate of both this show and the Robert Glasper Trio‘s performance with Bilal from the next day.)

This brings us to July 9, 2011, when the Robert Glasper Experiment & Pete Rock threw it down again, this time at the North Sea Jazz Festival and with Roy Ayers receiving top billing. Here I present the full audio recording, 68 minutes long, mp3 format, sourced from the North Sea Jazz Festival web video stream: http://www.mediafire.com/?8fc9l3dsb4bxq3s. Also, part of the performance is available as a DVD download here.

Here is the full info to go along with that mp3:
Roy Ayers with Pete Rock & The Robert Glasper Experiment
July 9, 2011
Congo, Ahoy, Rotterdam, The Netherlands @ North Sea Jazz Festival
SBD > video webstream (unknown kbps) > Cool Edit Pro > WAV > MP3

01. unknown instrumental
Roy Ayers enters:
02. Everybody Loves The Sunshine
Pete Rock enters:
03. Don’t Stop The Feeling
04. We Live in Brooklyn, Baby
05. Pete Rock spins records
06. Don’t Stop The Feeling

Roy Ayers – vocals, vibraphone
Pete Rock – DJ
John Pressley – vocals & percussion
Raeford Gaskins – saxophone
Robert Glasper – piano
Derrick Hodge – bass
Chris Dave – drums
Casey Benjamin – saxophone & vocoder keytar

Bootsy Collins & The Funk U Band – The Funk Unity Tour 2011

Bootsy Collins & The Funk U Band – July 9, 2011 – Jazz A Vienne, France:
The Pinocchio Theory, Hollywood Squares, Swing Down Sweet Chariot, Cosmic Slop

Bootsy Collins has assembled a monster band of P-Funk alumni (calling them the Funk U Band) for his 2011 Funk Unity Tour in support of his new album, Tha Funk Capitol Of The World. And if that sentence didn’t have enough Funk for ya, I’m about to hit you off with even more!

You can start by pressing play on the above audio track. Then move on to the full course, this 2 hour pro-shot video of the full show from July 9, 2011 in Vienne, France:

When you’re done with that i’ve got some downloads for you. I’ve ripped the above video and you can download the 800mb flash video file via: MEGAUPLOAD or TORRENT.

I’ve also got audio of the next night’s show at North Sea Jazz Festival in Rotterdam, Netherlands from July 10, 2011. It’s a 103 minute untracked audio file and you can download it in either MP3 or FLAC. I recorded it from the NSJF webstream, so it is soundboard quality, although it was only streaming at 192kbps.

Bootsy Collins & The Funk U Band:
Bootsy Collins: space bass, vocals
Frankie “Kash” Waddy: drums
Bernie Worrell: keys
Joel “Razor Sharp” Johnson: keys
DeWayne “Blackbyrd” McKnight: guitar
Keith Cheatham: rhythm guitar
T.M. Stevens: bass
Brian Hardgroove: bass, vocals (of Public Enemy)
Garry Winters: trumpet (of the NastyNattiHorns)
Sarah Morrow: trombone (of the NastyNattiHorns)
Randy Villars: saxophone (of the NastyNattiHorns)
Hazel Razzberry Scott: vocals
Candi-Yam (Candice Cheatham): vocals
Kyle Jason: vocals
Ouiwey Collins (Bootsy’s son): MC